Republican Central Securities Depository

History of ANNA

The Association of National Numbering Agencies (ANNA) was founded in 1992 by 22 National Numbering Agencies. ANNA functions under the Belgian law. The purpose of the Association is promotion of international identification numbers of securities (ISIN) as an adopted method for uniform identification of financial instruments. At the initial stage of the Association’s activity its members worked on the concept of standardization of the accompanying algorithm, which is the basis of ISIN. The work also included a review of the regulatory framework related to allocation of ISINs by financial institutions founded and operating in different countries. It is important to note that the structure of the ISIN code had been defined by the International Standards Organisation (ISO) in the late 1970s, long before ANNA was founded.

Subsequently, ISO appointed ANNA as an authorized registering and maintaining agency on standards of numbers ISIN (ISO 6166). ANNA was given the three main functions of ISO: to promote, to maintain and develop the standard ISIN. Fourteen years later, ISINs have been widely used before and after transactions settlement.

Being an authorized registrar on the ISO 6166 standard, ISO delegated responsibility and rights to ANNA on all the matters connected with its responsibility in maintaining the standard. ISO is an organization responsible for disclosure of the ISO 6166 standard which is necessary for the standard to answer its purpose. It shows close cooperation that is directly and indirectly essential between ISO, acting as a governing organization, members of SC4 (special sub-committee of ISO, responsible for standards related to financial instruments) and ANNA as an organization, responsible for implementing the standard.

Республиканский центральный депозитарий ценных бумаг

Новости рынка
ценных бумаг

23 октября 2017
eng / ru

История

Ассоциация национальных нумерующих агентств (АННА) (Association of National Numbering Agencies, ANNA) была основана в 1992 г. и подчиняется бельгийскому законодательству. Целью создания Ассоциации является содействие распространению международных идентификационных номеров ценных бумаг (international securities identification num-bers, ISIN) в качестве принятого метода для единой идентификации финансовых инструментов. Ассоциация была основана двадцатью двумя национальными нумерующими агентствами. В начале деятельности ее участники работали над концепцией стандартизации сопутствующего алгоритма, который является основанием ISIN. Эта работа также включала изучение нормативно-правовой базы, связанной с присвоением ISIN финансовыми институтами, основанными и действующими в разных странах. Важно отметить, что структура кода ISIN была определена Международной организацией по стандартизации (International Standards Organisation, ISO) еще в конце 1970-х гг., задолго до создания АННА.

Впоследствии ISO назначила АННА уполномоченным регистрационным и поддерживающим агентством по стандарту кодов ISIN (ISO 6166). АННА были переданы три основные функции от ISO: содействовать распространению (продвигать), поддерживать и развивать стандарт ISIN. Четырнадцать лет спустя ISIN повсеместно используется до и после совершения сделок.

Являясь уполномоченным регистратором по стандарту ISO 6166, ISO передает полномочия и права АННА по всем вопросам, связанными с ее обязанностями по поддержке стандарта. ISO является организацией, отвечающей за обнародование стандарта ISO 6166, что необходимо для того, чтобы стандарт отвечал своему назначению. Это демонстрирует близкое сотрудничество, необходимое напрямую и косвенно между ISO, выступающей в качестве регулирующей организации, членами SC4 (специальный подкомитет ISO, отвечающий за стандарты, связанные с финансовыми инструментами) и АННА в качестве организации, отвечающей за внедрение стандарта.